Using A Reusable Cup At Foxfield

Wow. I am feeling overwhelmed right now. I’ve been reading about the climate crisis and pollution and carbon footprints for the past hour or so and I’m honestly feeling a little bit guilty about how I’ve been living.

First of all, did you know that the largest trash dump in the world is in the Pacific Ocean?

The Great Pacific Garbage Patch stretches from the coast of California to Japan, and it’s estimated to be twice the size of Texas.

In some places, the floating debris-estimated to be about 90 percent plastic-goes 90 feet deep. Elsewhere, there are six times more pieces of plastic than plankton, the main food source for many sea animals.

Marine biologists estimate that about 80 percent of the litter is from land, either dumped directly into waterways or blown into rivers and streams from states as far away as Iowa.

Basically the trash we leave behind at festivals, the bottle cap we drop on the ground, the beer can we lose playing Louisville chugger, eventually all find their way out to sea. In the Pacific, the currents have corralled all of this trash into a giant blob of plastic-filled garbage floating in the middle of the ocean.

 This is NOT good for the animals that live there. Whales in the Pacific are being diagnosed with breast cancer for the first time in history. And check out these little guys!

This turtle got caught in the ring of a bottle cap as a baby and somehow survived until adulthood with the plastic drastically impacting its growth.

This bird is now living inside a plastic bag.

 

 

 

 

The trash problem in the Pacific doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of the terrible things we are doing to the Earth.  The average person produces 4lbs of trash a day. Americans alone produce around 200 million tons of trash a year!

I’m totally blown right now. It’s like, I KNOW this stuff. I know that pollution is an issue. I know we are killing the polar bears. For some reason though, today, I’m really feeling my own personal impact on the problem. I’m remembering the bottles of water I’ve opted for instead of using a reusable bottle. I’m remembering the paper towls and napkins I’ve used instead of fabric. I’m remembering the grocery bags I’ve used instead of bringing my own. If every person just made those three changes right there, just THINK about the impact that would have. Better yet, those three small changes SAVE MONEY.

Check out this website with reusable products. Notice the ticker on the top with the total count of plastic bags used this year. When I wrote this post at 6:20, the count was at 153,044,500,000. What is it now?

When you see me at Fox Field this weekend, I will be using a reusable cup for my drinks and I’m bringing a washable sweat towel.

Really though, we are making the problem, so we need to fix it! Or else this might happen!

 

Go now and google some ways you can make small, money saving changes in your life that make a HUGE impact on the saving the environment and reversing the climate crisis.

I LOVE YOU EARTH!

One response to “Using A Reusable Cup At Foxfield

  1. Thanks for posting this. The picture of the turtle kills me.

Leave a Reply

